icons2d

Maria Steinberg
Library Director
(845) 279-6421
(845) 279-0043 Fax
Contact Us

Library Hours:
Monday 9-7
Tuesday 12-7
Wednesday 9-7
Thursday 12-7
Friday 9-4
Saturday 10-3
Sunday Closed

Click here for Winter Programs

 

 

Find the information you want by subject or product:

  Auto Repair Manuals

  Biographies

  Business

  Career Tools

  Chilton's

  College Prep Tools

  Downloadable Audiobooks from OverDrive

  eBooks from OverDrive

  EBSCO Databases

  Encyclopedias

  GALE databases

  Genealogy

  Health

  HeritageQuest

  Homework Support

  Help

  Hudson River Valley Heritage Historical Newspapers

  Job Now / Adult Learning Center

  Language Learning

  Literature

  Magazines

  Mango Languages

  Newspapers

  New York Times

  OverDrive Downloadable Audiobooks & eBooks

  Practice Tests (GED, SAT, ACT, Civil Service, vocational & military tests)

  Putnam County Community Information

  Science

  Testing & Education

  TumbleBooks animated picture books

News & Newspapers

Find Magazines

  New York Times

  Gale Newsstand: over 1,100 newspapers

  Gale New York State Newspapers: 38 newspapers from around the state

  Hudson River Valley Heritage Historical Newspapers including:

  Newburgh Telegraph (1831 - 1835)

  Rockland County Journal (1850 - 1879)

  Rockland County Messenger (1848;1851 - 1855;1857)

  Rockland County Times (1902 - 1904)

  The Kingston Daily Freeman (1895;1903 - 1912)

  Vassar Miscellany News (1914 - 2000)

  GALE General OneFile: A one-stop source for the news you are looking for. Articles updated daily covering business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology & many general interest topics.

  GALE Academic OneFile: News & articles covering the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature & other subjects. Updated daily.

Over 1,000 of the most popular magazines including these titles:

  Cosmopolitan

  Consumer Reports

  Entertainment Weekly

  Good Housekeeping

  National Geographic

  Newsweek

  People

  Popular Mechanics

  Prevention

  Psychology Today

  Real Simple

  Redbook

  Runner's World

  Sports Illustrated

  Time 

 

 

Biography & Literature Resources

Homework Support

  Hudson Valley Reads: Sign up for an e-newsletter and get great book suggestions by email.

  Twayne's Authors Series: Biography and literary criticism on more than 600 world authors.

  Encyclopedia of World Biography: Vol. 1 - 23 (2004) | Vol. 24 (2005) | Vol. 25 (2005) | Vol. 26 (2006) | Vol. 27 (2007)

  EBSCO Kids Search or Searchasaurus (features an animated dinosaur theme) for K-5 students. Includes more than 50 popular magazines, Encyclopedia of Animals & American Heritage Children's Dictionary

  Grolier Onlineincludes:

  Encyclopedias:

  Encyclopedia Americana: In depth information for older students & adults

  Multimedia Encyclopedia: Includes encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes and games, and research starters. It also includes an atlas and dictionary.

  New Book of Knowledge: For middle grade students and includes literary selections, a timeline, projects and experiments, news, homework help and more.

  Atlas

  Thesaurus:

  Roget's II: The New Thesaurus

  American Heritage Children's Thesaurus

  Dictionaries:

  American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language

  American Heritage Student Dictionary

  American Heritage Children's Dictionary

  American Heritage English to Spanish Dictionary

  American Heritage Spanish to English Dictionary

  Additional Encyclopedias

  Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

  Encyclopedia of Population

  UXL Encyclopedia of Science

  Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
 

Help

Putnam County Libraries

* What does "FREE" mean?

  Contact your local library with questions or comments, and to locate additional library materials not included in these databases.

  If you are having difficulties: Sometimes there are conflicts with firewall software on home computers, and the following settings may take care of the problem:

  •   the option to accept cookies, including third party cookies, needs to be enabledyou may need to include the URL you are trying to access in your "accepted" list
  •   the option to allow the use of port 2048 to be checked ON

Alice Curtis Desmond and Hamilton Fish Library - Garrison

Brewster Public Library

Julia L. Butterfield Memorial Library - Cold Spring

Kent Public Library - Kent

Mahopac Library - Mahopac

Patterson Library - Patterson

Putnam Valley Free Library - Putnam Valley

Reed Memorial Library - Carmel

Free to patrons of Putnam County, NY libraries. These resources have information you cannot access through a typical Internet search, in fact they available only to patrons of libraries where access has been purchased for them. These unique resources are provided by your library with state and local funds, and give you access to reliable online information.

Funds to purchase these resources came to libraries through Putnam County Government , New York State Government & the New York State Library's NOVELny program.

[Welcome] [About Us] [Catalog] [Databases] [E-Library] [Calendar] [Become a Friend] [Community] [Untitled38]